The South Carolina Notice to Quit is a type of eviction notice form used by landlords, property managers, and property management companies to notify tenants that they must either comply with an order, or quit and give up possession of the rental property within a certain period of time. South Carolina Notice to Quit forms are commonly used to inform the tenant of nonpayment of rent, lease termination, and health hazard or injury to the property. Once your lease ends, you have to decide whether you would like to move out, continue renting on a month-by-month basis (depending on your agreement and state law), or sign a new lease. While the landlord may choose to end your lease or raise your rent moving forward, state laws generally require a 30-day or 60-day notice before the tenant must vacate the premises. In most states, tenants who stay in their rental beyond the end of a lease without signing a new one are automatically shifted to a month-by-month rental basis. Note that if you select a notice period of "0 days," then this means that the notice will require that the tenant immediately vacate (or cure the violation, if applicable). Although most landlords are scrupulous about maintaining and returning security deposits, the letter should remind your landlord that you expect your deposit back. As a rule, putting things in writing generally helps protect your interests (in this case, it creates a record that you asked for your deposit in the affirmative). The New Jersey Notice to Quit Form for Health Hazard and Physical Injury should be used if the tenant creates a health hazard or physical injury to the property which is serious or continuing. These forms must be detailed and specific, because an inaccurate or incomplete statement of the problems could cause a later eviction complaint to be dismissed.